S3 bucket versioning preserves earlier revisions of an object when new data is uploaded under the same key. It is disabled by default and can support backups and archiving, but storing more versions increases bucket size and cost. section 7.3
Replacing an object
Without versioning, uploading data 1 and then data 2 under key A leaves data 2 available; data 1 is no longer accessible. With versioning enabled, both versions remain accessible. section 7.3
Enable versioning on an S3 bucket with the AWS CLI. section 7.3
$ aws s3api list-object-versions --bucket awsinaction-$yourname
List the objects and versions stored in the bucket. section 7.3
























